Thursday, September 28, 2023

Reorganizations Slated By County, Nine Towns

By Al Campbell

That’s because it will have the dubious distinction of being the first among municipalities in 2006 to hold its annual ceremony at 10 a.m.
Why Sunday? Why so early?
Assemblyman Jeff Van Drew (D-1st) wants to administer returning Democratic Mayor F. Nathan Doughty’s oath of office, but has similar duties in more northerly towns later in the day, according to the mayor.
“What could I say?” asked Doughty.
Middle Township has always reorganized on Jan. 1, but usually at a later hour.
The event will take place in the municipal meeting room, 33 Mechanic St., and is open to those who want to watch local government begin another year.
Dennis Township Committee, also a Jan. 1 reorganization stickler, plans to hold its ceremony at 1:30 p.m. at the Municipal Building, 571 Dennisville-Petersburg Road, Dennisville.
At that time, Democrats Dennis Crippen and Brian O’Connor will take seats on the five-member governing body.
Since election of the mayor is left to committee, it’s possible Democrat Ruth Blessing will assume the post, or Democrat John Murphy could follow in his late father’s footsteps to fill the chief executive’s post.
On Jan. 3 at 7 p.m., Stone Harbor and West Cape May will hold reorganizations in their respective municipal buildings.
Stone Harbor Borough Council will have Independent Republicans, who ran together, Julian Miraglia and Anne Wannen join its ranks for three-year terms.
North Wildwood reorganizes at 6 p.m. Jan. 3 and for the first time in many years will have a new chief executive, Mayor William Henfey. Mayor Aldo Palombo did not seek reelection.
Robert Maschio, a Republican, will take his oath as council member at large. In Ward 1, Republican Robert McCullion, and in Ward 2, Republican Edwin Koehler, will take oaths and return to the governing body.
Lower Township Council set aside Jan. 4 at 7 p.m. for its reorganization. The meeting will take place in municipal hall, Bayshore Road, Villas.
On Jan. 6 at 5 p.m. at Atlantic Cape Community College’s campus, Court House-South Dennis Road, freeholders will hold county government’s reorganization.
At that time, Freeholder Director Daniel Beyel and Vice Director Ralph Sheets will take their oaths of office.
After the meeting, ceremonial public oaths will be administered to constitutional officers, County Clerk Rita Fulginiti and Sheriff John Callinan. Both were previously sworn to enable them to conduct the duties of their respective offices.
That same day, at 6 p.m. Upper Township Committee will hold its reorganization in township hall, 2100 Tuckahoe Road, Petersburg.
At that time, Republican Frank Conrad will join the five-member governing body.
On Jan. 7 at 2 p.m., Woodbine will hold its swearing-in ceremony and annual meeting in Borough Hall, 501 Washington St.
At that time, independents Anthony Saduk Sr., council president, and newcomer Gerald Sanford will take seats on the governing body.
On Jan. 12 at 7 p.m., the Borough of Cape May Point will conduct its reorganization at the fire house, 412 Yale Ave..
Contact Campbell at:

Read More

Spout Off

CapeMay – If Mayor Mullick ran his family business as he ran the city sponsored music festival and other programs that cost the taxpayers money he would be bankrupt. Loosing $51,911 on Capestock is a disgrace…

Read More

Ocean City – Kudos to the Ocean City spouter who pointed out the Minnesota liberal radical dem who wanted to dismantle the police,and in turn was beaten, robbed, and had her carjacked in front of her kids.It…

Read More

Cape May – Why does Cape May council need so many “Task Committees “? I believe they were elected to represent the citizens and make decisions for the best interests of the city. If they can not do the job…

Read More

Most Read

Print Edition

Recommended Articles