Wednesday, February 21, 2024


UPDATE: Voter Turnout’s 74% in General Election


By Erin Ledwon

UPDATE: Unofficial election results were updated with provisional ballot totals Nov. 10, according to Cape May County Clerk Rita Fulginiti, bringing the new total of ballots cast to 58,115 out of 75,436, a turnout of 77.04%.

There is now a tie for the third seat in the race for Cape May Point commissioner. Anita VanHeeswyk and Mary A. Kelly each received 88 votes.   
“The deadline for voters who were sent ‘cure’ letters to resolve signature and ID issues is Nov. 18. Any additional totals will be posted following that deadline. We expect the official tally to be posted Nov. 20,” stated Fulginiti, in an email. 

COURT HOUSE – Who won? That’s the question many voters found themselves asking, as ballots continued to be counted days after the Nov. 3 election.  

Results in Cape May County remained unofficial, as of 9 a.m. Nov. 10. They do not include mail-iballots postmarked by Nov3, which may be received through Nov. 10, and provisional ballots, according to a note posted at the top of the results page on the Cape May County Clerk’s election website ( 

The website reports 55,820 ballots were cast out of 75,436 registered voters, a turnout of 74%. That number beat the 2016 presidential election, when 49,939 ballots were cast out of 70,801 registered voters, a turnout of nearly 71%.  


Republican incumbent Donald J. Trump won the county with 31,498 votes. Challengers were Democrat Joseph R. Biden, 22,713Libertarian Party Jo Jorgensen, 289; Green Party Howie Hawkins, 131; United Party America Bill Hammons, 53; Alliance Party Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente, 50; Constitution Party Don Blankenship, 24and Socialism and Liberation Gloria Estela La Riva13. 

Biden was declared the winner of the presidency. 

U.S. Senate 

In Cape May County, Republican Rikin (Rik) Mehta received 29,868 votes to Democrat incumbent Cory Booker’s 21,773Green Party Madelyn R. Hoffman’s 377Of, By, For! Veronica Fernandez’s 348; and LaRouche Was Right Daniel Burke’s 112 

Booker was declared the winner in the U.S. Senate race.  

U.S. House of Representatives 

Republican incumbent Jeff Van Drew, receiving 32,934 votes in Cape May County, outpolled challengers Democrat Amy Kennedy, 20,784; Libertarian Party Jesse Ehrnstrom, 308; and Justice Mercy Humility Jenna Harvey, 202.  

Van Drew was declared the winner in the 2nd Congressional District race. 

County Races 


Republican Robert A. Nolan will remain sheriff. In an uncontested race, he received 38,633 votes. 

County Clerk

Also, in an uncontested race, Republican Rita Marie Fulginiti received 40,169 votes and will continue in her position as Cape May County clerk.  


Republican incumbents Will Morey and Jeffrey Pierson retained their seats on the Board of Chosen Freeholders, soon to be county commissioners, beginning Jan. 1, 2021. They received 30,724 and 29,837 votes, respectively. 

Democrat challengers Brendan Sciarra and Elizabeth F. Casey received 19,975 and 19,855 votes, respectively, while independent candidate Ryan Troiano received 3,283 votes. 

Municipal Races 

Cape May 

Zachary Mullock will replace Clarence F. Lear III as mayor. He received 896 votes to Lear’s 564. 

Christopher Bezaire defeated incumbent Patricia Gray Hendricks and Mark DiSanto for the seat on Cape May City Council. Bezaire received 663 votes; Hendricks, 526; and DiSanto, 140.  

Cape May Point  

With three seats open, and five candidates, incumbents Robert J. Moffatt and Anita VanHeeswyk won reelection, with 127 and 88 votes, respectively. Catherine M. Busch won the third seat, receiving 95 votes. 

The other contenders were Mary A. Kelly87; and Marcus D. Wrotny, 16 

Dennis Township Committee 

Republican incumbents Thomas J. VanArtsdalen, with 2,551 votes, and Scott J. Turner, with 2,543 votes, won reelection to the governing body. Democrats Jeffrey Trout and Renee Pettit received 1,239 and 1,236 votes, respectively. 

Lower Township 

Republican incumbents will return to Lower Township Council.  

In the race for mayor, Francis H. Sippel, with 8,188 votes, defeated Democrat Christopher South, with 3,880 votes. 

David Perry, with 7,958 votes, outpolled Democrat Chris Marlow, with 3,980 votes.  

In Ward 2, Kevin S. Coombs, in an uncontested race, received 2,921 votes.  

Middle Township Committee 

Republican incumbent Timothy Donohue won reelection to the governing body, with 6,429 votes. Democrat Bob Jackson received 3,931 votes. 

North Wildwood  

Republican incumbents will return to North Wildwood City Council. They include: 1st WardDavid J. Del Conte889; and 2nd Ward, Kellyann Tolomeo713. There were no Democrat challengers. 

Stone Harbor 

In an uncontested race for mayor, Republican Judith M. Davies-Dunhour retained her seat, with 388 votes. 

Republican incumbent Reese Moore won reelection to Stone Harbor Borough Council, with 363 votes. Joining him is newcomer Robin Lynn Casper, also a Republican, with 375 votesThere were no Democrat challengers. 

Upper Township Committee  

Republican incumbent Curtis T. Corson Jr. outpolled Democrat John Amenhauser, with 4,706 votes to Amenhauser’s 3,229. 

West Wildwood   

Matthew J. Ksiazekwith 191 votes, John J. Banning, with 190 votes, and Joseph D. Segrest, with 190 votes, defeated incumbents Amy Korobellis, 157Scott Golden, 155; and Christopher J. Fox, 152. 


In an uncontested race, Republican incumbents Hector Cruz and David Bennett will return to Woodbine Borough Council, with 439 and 434 votes, respectively. 

State Question 1 

A statewide question asked whether New Jersey should legalize the use of recreational marijuanaIn Cape May County, 34,333 voted yes, while 18,086 voted no. Statewide, 2,189,609 voted yes, and 1,083,311 voted no, per The Associated Press (AP). 

State Question 2 

A second statewide question asked whether New Jersey should give a $250 property tax deduction to peacetime veterans. In Cape May County, 40,387 voted yes, and 11,480 voted no. In New Jersey, 2,452,158 voted yes, and 775,663 voted noAP reports.  

State Question 3  

Yet another statewide question asked whether New Jersey should postpone the redrawing of legislative district boundaries if U.S. Census counts are delayed. Cape May County saw 25,803 yes votes and 24,048 no votes. Statewide, 1,798,058 voted yes, while 1,297,751 voted no, according to AP. 

Cape May Question   

Voters in Cape May were asked to decide between two bond ordinances, initiated by citizen petition, involving the financing and construction of public safety facilities. They chose the one that would finance the construction of a stand-alone firehouse, for $5 millionwith 500 votes. The other ordinance, which would’ve financed the construction of a consolidated public safety building, for $15 million, received 457 votes, while 408 voted against both ordinances with a no vote. 

West Cape May Question  

West Cape May voters supported the establishment of a Length of Service Awards Program for members of the West Cape May Volunteer Fire Company, with 513 yes votes and 116 no votes. 

Read More

Spout Off

Upper Township – I wish that the Caldwell Park wooden playground was replaced with a similar playground in size and structure! I understand the reasons for demolishing, but every time I drive by, it is so empty!

Read More

Cape May County – The problem at the County Park & Zoo isn't too little asphalt, it's too many cars. Bulldozing acres of forest could have been avoided. When demand is high, raise the price. Instead of…

Read More

Avalon/NYC – I have an LLC registered in New York city and Albany. This morning I called my lawyer to dissolve all my assets in New York state. Liberals, you can have New York, California, Connecticut, New…

Read More

Most Read

Print Edition

Recommended Articles

Skip to content